One year on…

It’s hard to believe that it is exactly a year our last big event which was the Final Workshop for our ERSO Emerging Composers’ competiton.  We had an amazing afternoon workshop with the fabulous five finalists and their amazing pieces and had a really tough choice to make in selecting a winner.  Our fab five finalists were selected from a really impressive set of candidates and the workshop showed why these five earned their places in the final.  Each composer had a totally unique approach to creating a Birthday Fanfare for Ernest Read –  but the thing that united them was talent!

After much deliberation, we were delighted to announce that talented young composition student Alexander Papp was the winner.  Alex is creating an amazing new piece for Grady Hassan who is our 2020 winner of the ERSO Soloist of the Year competition.

From left to right, Finalists Alex Papp. Sarah Cattley, Caitlin Harrison, Andreas Swerdlow and Jared Destro along with composer and mentor Emma-Ruth Richards and conductor Chris Stark

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s